Give the gift of outdoor adventure with a gift card from TransaJetzt kaufen

Arc'teryx

213 Filter article
42 from 213 items

Sustainability

  • Fair Production

    Fairtrade Textile Production | Fair Labor Association
  • Animal Wellbeing

    RDS
  • Environment protection

    bluesign®

About Arc'teryx

Dave Lane founded a company called "Rock Solid Manufacturing" in the early 80s. Dave's story is classic: dissatisfaction with existing climbing harnesses and a vision to make them better. When Jeremy Guard, a visionary and aesthete, joined him, the company Arc'teryx was founded in 1989. The founders were inspired by Archaeopteryx for the logo and company name: The prehistoric bird was the first animal to develop feathers, thus driving evolution forward enormously. What began in a garage workshop has developed into an innovation leader in the outdoor industry. What makes Arc'teryx so legendary? The mix of creative potential, passion for innovation and hard work. The corporate culture from the very beginning is always present at Arc'teryx: the existing is questioned and innovations are driven forward until a product is exactly as it should be. No more and no less.

The Design Center in North Vancouver is an idea factory and consists of a team of designers, material experts, cutting technicians and product developers who know exactly what requirements a product must meet. Not far from there is ARC'One, a production facility where all prototypes are manufactured and tested. This is where solutions are sought for all product and production-related problems. Only what leaves the doors here is ready for global production. Arc'teryx is the origin of numerous innovations:

The first three-dimensionally shaped climbing harness - the Vapor Harness - was the beginning. This was followed by the Bora, a backpack with a thermolaminated back panel. With the introduction of the clothing line in 1998, Arc'teryx revolutionized the look of outdoor clothing thanks to 3D cutting technology. The most striking innovation in Arc'teryx clothing was waterproof, glued-in zips. W.L. Gore and YKK had already cut their teeth on the "Watertight Zip" project. Two global companies, one specializing in "waterproof", the other in zips. But it was Mike Blenkarn from Arc'teryx who, using an iron, a pasta machine and a lot of polyurethane, managed to find a solution and thus eliminate one of the biggest weaknesses in outdoor clothing. The WaterTight TM zipper is now the industry standard.

However, innovation is also a topic beyond the company's borders: for more than 25 years, Arc'teryx has been developing many new textile technologies in collaboration with Gore. Arc'teryx can recreate manufacturing scenarios faster than Gore, produce garments and get immediate feedback in the field. These capabilities help Gore determine the fabric properties to be achieved for GORE-TEX® membranes.

The fact that the Canadians have been able to put so much energy into development to this day is not least due to the sale of Arc'teryx to Amer Sports in 2005. At first, many fans - Arc'teryx does indeed have fans - were shocked, as corporations had often taken over small high-tech companies and destroyed them for profit. But Arc'teryx was not robbed of its soul. The parent company made a promise - and is keeping it. The head office still lets the Canadians do their thing today.

  • Free shipping from CHF 99

    (With the TransaCard always free of charge)

  • Secure and easy payment
  • 14 days cancellation right

Arc'teryx

184 Filtrer les articles
42 de 184 articles

Durabilité

  • Production équitable

    Fairtrade Textile Production | Fair Labor Association
  • Bien-être animal

    RDS
  • Protection de l'environnement

    bluesign®

Apropos Arc'teryx

Au début des années 80, Dave Lane avait fondé une entreprise sous le nom de "Rock Solid Manufacturing". L'histoire de Dave est classique : insatisfaction vis-à-vis des harnais d'escalade existants et vision d'amélioration de ceux-ci. Lorsque Jeremy Guard, un visionnaire et un esthète, les a rejoints, l'entreprise Arc'teryx a été créée en 1989. Pour le logo et le nom de l'entreprise, les fondateurs se sont inspirés de l'archéoptéryx : L'oiseau préhistorique a été le premier animal à développer des plumes, ce qui a considérablement fait avancer l'évolution. Ce qui a commencé dans un atelier de garage est devenu le leader de l'innovation dans l'industrie de l'outdoor. Qu'est-ce qui fait le mythe Arc'teryx ? Le mélange de potentiel créatif, de passion pour l'innovation et d'assiduité. La culture d'entreprise de la première heure est toujours présente chez Arc'teryx : l'existant est remis en question et les innovations sont poussées jusqu'à ce qu'un produit soit exactement comme il doit l'être. Ni plus ni moins.

Le Design Center de North Vancouver est une usine à idées et se compose d'une équipe de designers, d'experts en matériaux, de techniciens de coupe et de développeurs de produits qui connaissent exactement les exigences auxquelles un produit doit répondre. Non loin de là se trouve l'ARC'One, un atelier de fabrication dans lequel tous les prototypes sont fabriqués et testés. C'est ici que l'on cherche des solutions à tous les problèmes liés au produit et à la production. Seuls les produits qui sortent d'ici sont prêts pour la production mondiale. La maison Arc'teryx est à l'origine de nombreuses innovations :

Le premier harnais d'escalade de forme tridimensionnelle - le Vapor Harness - a marqué le début. Il a été suivi par le Bora, un sac à dos avec panneau dorsal thermolaminé. Avec le lancement de la ligne de vêtements en 1998, Arc'teryx a révolutionné l'aspect des vêtements outdoor grâce à la technique de coupe 3D. L'innovation la plus visible des vêtements Arc'teryx était les fermetures à glissière collées et imperméables. W.L. Gore et YKK s'étaient déjà cassé les dents sur le projet "Watertight Zip". Deux entreprises mondiales, l'une spécialisée dans l'"étanche à l'eau", l'autre dans les fermetures à glissière. Mais c'est Mike Blenkarn d'Arc'teryx qui, avec un fer à repasser, une machine à pâtes et beaucoup de polyuréthane, a réussi à trouver une solution et à éliminer ainsi l'un des plus grands points faibles des vêtements outdoor. La fermeture éclair WaterTight TM est aujourd'hui un standard industriel.

Mais l'innovation dépasse aussi les frontières de l'entreprise : depuis plus de 25 ans, Arc'teryx produit de nombreuses nouvelles technologies textiles en collaboration avec Gore. Arc'teryx peut reproduire des scénarios de fabrication plus rapidement que Gore, produire des vêtements et obtenir un feedback immédiat sur le terrain. Ces capacités aident Gore à déterminer les caractéristiques de tissu à atteindre pour les membranes GORE-TEX®.

Si les Canadiens ont pu consacrer autant d'énergie au développement jusqu'à aujourd'hui, c'est notamment grâce à la vente d'Arc'teryx à Amer Sports en 2005. Au début, de nombreux fans - Arc'teryx a en effet des fans - ont été choqués, car souvent des groupes avaient déjà racheté de petites entreprises high-tech et les avaient détruites par appât du gain. Mais Arc'teryx n'a pas été dépouillé de son âme. La maison mère l'avait promis - et elle s'y tient. La centrale laisse les Canadiens faire leur truc jusqu'à aujourd'hui.

  • Livraison gratuite à partir de CHF 99

    (Avec la TransaCard toujours gratuit)

  • Paiement sûr et simple
  • 14 jours de droit de rétractation